How old is too old?

7 Aug

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me
When Hannah was born, we lived 7 minutes from the Sydney CBD (that’s central business district for you fellow Americans).  We lived in a little apartment that had a nice big bathtub.  I found the easiest way to bathe Hannah was to actually get in there myself as well. That was much easier then leaning over the high bathtub side whilst holding a newborn with one hand and washing with the other, all the while making sure she didn’t drown. Luckily we never had any poo incidents.  I think I would have been traumatised if I was sharing a bath with poo.  Ick.  Good girl for not pooping in the bath.  Except that one time, but she was older then and I wasn’t in the bath with her.

Then we moved in with Grandma, and despite the big 4 bedroom house, the bathtub was small.  Like half a bathtub.  I’d never actually seen one like that before.  Not in a house anyway.  Maybe on a boat or something.  I couldn’t really fit in with her, but by that stage she was 9 months old and nearly walking (she walked at 10 months), so she didn’t really need me in there holding her upright to avoid death by drowning.  Not like when she was a baby.

But then we moved into our current apartment.  We have a big bathtub again.  “Oh, that’s a bbbiiiiiiigggggggg bath!”  Hannah said when she saw it.  Oh how I love to have a bath!  Not that I’ve had a proper bath in there yet, since pregnant women aren’t supposed to have a very hot bath and what’s the point of having a not very hot bath?  Hannah, on the other hand, had other ideas.  She seems to have the memory of an elephant.  She can somehow remember things from months and months ago even though she is only just on 2 and these things happened months and even a year ago.  Like the bath for example.  Hannah was really excited at the prospect of being able to have a bath with Mommy again.

I only fill the bath about 5 inches and not overly hot, since she is 2 and enjoys laying on her stomach and splashing whilst having her bath.  Sitting in 5 inches of not really hot water is certainly not my idea of an awesome bath, but you know, you do things like that for your kids.

I put the bubble bath in, put Hannah in, then undressed myself and got in with her.  She played and played and splashed and squealed and had a great time.

“Oh, Mommy’s boobies!”  She said as she reached forward and grabbed my nipple.

I was speechless.  What do you say to a 2 year old about such things?  I mean, I wash her when she’s in the bath.  I change her nappy and wipe her bottom.  Why wouldn’t she think it’s ok to grab my nipples?  Plus, maybe she even remembers drinking from them (oh gosh I hope not!). She did nurse until she was 1.

I told her that she can’t touch my boobies, they are my private parts.  But then she grabbed them again.  I don’t think she understands private parts.

Then she reached forward and said “Mommy’s ‘gina!”  I caught her little curious finger before it actually reached it’s target, but it was still rather horrifying.

“No sweetie, you can touch your vagina, but you can’t touch Mommy’s.  Mommy’s boobies and Mommy’s vagina are private parts.”

Then why is mommy allowed to wipe me when she changes my nappy, and wash me when I’m in the bath?  I imagine she was probably thinking at the time.  Seriously, how do you explain that to a 2 year old?

Now I’m wondering if it’s even ok that she sees me naked?  How old is too old to see Mommy naked?  To have a bath with Mommy?  Should I be wearing my swimsuit in the bath?  I brought up that prospect to Aaron, but Hannah heard me, got all excited, ran to her room, and retrieved her own swimming suit.  She thought it would be great fun to wear our swim suits in the bath tub.

P.S. 40 weeks and 2 days.  No baby yet, still waiting……………

Don’t forget to vote once per day! Thanks everyone!!!

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

7 Responses to “How old is too old?”

  1. Steph B August 7, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I think between a mom and a daughter, seeing each other naked is never a big deal. She seems a bit old to touch you naked, but I can see how she could get confused. I think maybe now that she knows what those parts are, maybe wear a swim suit? I don’t really know what to tell ya! LOL. Except it’s no biggie that she see you naked.

    • Sheri (Mommy Stuff Blogger) August 7, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

      Yeah, I think maybe it’s because she hadn’t seen me naked in a year, so it was all new and interesting. That’s what I like to tell myself anyway…

      • Steph B August 8, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

        Well, with the new baby coming (any day now), she’ll probably be interested in them and see them all the time. So just tell yourself, you are preparing her to see them again. LOL I was the same age as your daughter when my bro was born and my mom said that I was so jealous of my younger brother breastfeeding that I used to climb on her and try.

    • Pimmie November 22, 2015 at 2:15 am #

      It’s ok to touch mommys private parts!!!!!

  2. kristen August 8, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    My daughter has done the same thing to me. She is 3 now, and if she sees me changing or something, for some reason, she always notices the nipples. lol…and says “Mommy’s pulls” (nipples)
    Yeah. Embarrassing. Not sure why I told you that.

  3. Brandi August 8, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    My daughter is 2 also and is very interested in boobs in general. She likes to tell people that girls have bigger ones than boys and everything. I just read the other day that the “too old” age is when one of you feels uncomfortable.

    I too believe my daughter may remember breast feeding since she was over a year when we finished. I think she can sense something now that I’m pregnant again cause she looks at the very quizical now.

  4. cindy August 10, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    So lucky! We have had many poo in the tub incidents, with both my children. It’s so fun. FYI, in a pinch, you can just hose it down the drain.
    We’re not so big on modesty in my house, especially with us girls. Changing, showering, that sort of thing, we just don’t sweat. Maybe we’re weird? Probably we’re weird, but we do what we’re comfortable with.

Leave a Reply

