Planning

2 Jun

This year is the very first year Hannah is having her own birthday party.  Every other year, we’ve gone to the joint birthday party for all 8 kids born to the women of our antenatal class.  But this year, we are doing both.  She’s been excitedly talking about having a birthday party for months.  I was just going to do the easy thing and have a McDonald’s party until I found this.  Now we’re having a mermaid party at our house.  With 10 kids.  I know, what have I gotten myself in to?

The party is less than a month from now and apart from setting the date and booking the party box (with the kids tables, chairs, decorations and costumes), I haven’t done a thing.  I haven’t made or sent invitations, planned how to make the mermaid cake, figured out what craft we will make on the day, or which games we will play.  At Hannah’s request, the kids will be fed nuggets and chips, so at least I’ve planned the food a little bit.  But do I feed the adults too?  I don’t know what proper kids party etiquette is.  The kids are only 4 and under, so do the adults stay for the party?  I’m assuming so, which means if I don’t make some food for the adults too, they would be sitting around watching their kids eat whilst trying to ignore their rumbling tummies.

I don’t really know what to get her for her birthday either.  I thought that asking her what she’d like would provide me with a really long list of possibilities   Turns out she only wants a chocolate Freddo Frog and a new story book.  Later I finally squeezed out that she might like some “girls clothes” too.  And some new shoes, but she already has about 20 pairs (courtesy of Grandma), so I’m not about to indulge that request.

On the one hand, we want to get her stuff she wants, but on the other, we don’t want her to know what she’s getting.  I think I’ll just have to go to the shops and have a little look-see.  A year or so ago, we thought we’d be getting bunk beds for their birthdays, but with Daniel’s recklessness, that is definitely not an option.  He’d climb to the top and then just walk off because that is the kind of thing that he does.  We were also thinking about getting them a trampoline, but our yard isn’t that big and a trampoline would take up a lot of space.  Of course they don’t actually use the grassed part of the yard much anyway, so maybe that would be a good thing.

Maybe we could have a look at the lego store, she does like to make lego things with Aaron.  I’m not sure who would like that present more though, Hannah, or Aaron.

I’d better start planning, and coming up with some present ideas.  How was your very first kids birthday party?

If you enjoyed reading this, please vote for my blog. All you have to do is click the link below. That’s it… Clicking the link brings you to the Top Mommy Blogs home page. You don’t have to do anything else. Any clicks from my site to theirs is a vote.  THANKS!
Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Like my blog? ‘Like’ it on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mommy-Adventures/203964682967827?ref=tn_tnmn

Pin It You officially have my permission to pin this (as long as it links back to my site).  Just don’t act like you wrote it. Because you didn’t….

Copyright 2013 Sheri Thomson

The Best Mom Blogs

6 Responses to “Planning”

  1. Renee June 2, 2013 at 7:33 am #

    My son had a party one year that we played bowling. We saved up plastic 2 liter soda bottles and lined them up like at a bowling alley and then they threw a big, plastic ball at the pins…they had a blast! I would fix the same food for everyone…..if these are the parents of the attending children then I’m sure they have eaten nuggets and fries! haha maybe some chip and dip and fresh veggies with dip..definitly keep it simple as you will be wanting to enjoy the day with Hannah not be in the kitchen making food!

  2. LBcruiseshipblogger June 2, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    The fishing game might go well with a mermaid themed party. Just wrap prizes with very large loops in the ribbon and have a pole with a string and large plastic hook on it that the kids catch the ribbon loops with. You could even make a blue paper pond to place the gift fish in and have a mermaid decoration in the pond. For an added touch, make the gifts look something like fish by having extra paper stick out one end, tie a ribbon around it near the end of the actual gift and then fan the leftover paper out like a tail.

  3. LBcruiseshipblogger June 2, 2013 at 8:23 am #

    For the adults some pre-made party trays of little sandwiches or something would work for no-fuss during the party nibblies along with the veggies and dip Renee suggested.

  4. sweetmelissasfragrancefactory June 3, 2013 at 2:55 am #

    Hi there! First, I voted for your blog – it is great!! 🙂 Second, I have three sweet little boys so we have a little experience with birthday parties. What I’ve found is as long as there’s cake, balloons, and hot dogs, the party is a hit! No one seems to remember anything else but that 🙂 Good luck and I’m sure it will be awesome! At the end of the day, the best part about having a party is getting everyone together and sharing some laughs 🙂

  5. Amy June 4, 2013 at 2:35 am #

    In the states a lot of parents would just drop off their kids and you’d be left to fend for your self.

Leave a Reply

