How many bubbas?

21 Jan

I must have drawn about 50 bubbas yesterday.  Every day Hannah wants me to draw her bubbas.  And by bubba, she means herself.  We’ve been calling her Bubba since she was born.  She comes up to me carrying her magnetic draw (that’s the knock off version of a Magna-doodle) and tells me “Bubba. Bubba.”  Recently she has been more specific “Bubba Hannah. Peeeaaaasssss.”  Of course I draw one for her.  When she says please, it’s the most adorable thing ever.

As soon as I’m finished, she promptly gets one of the magnet shapes and colours over the bubba.  Then she erases it and asks me to draw her a bubba again.

It’s not just the knock off Magna-doodle, she asks me to draw bubbas on pieces of paper.

When we’re outside, she asks me to draw bubba with her sidewalk chalk on the cement under the awning.

Only while we’re out there, she branches out and asks me to draw Daddy, Mommy, Grandma, Jess, Jim, and/or YaYa.

Once, she asked me to draw her a deer.  Actually, I’m pretty sure she said ‘Oh dear’ (Grandma’s influence), but in my mind, she totally wanted me to draw her a deer.

On a couple of occasions, Hannah asked me to draw her a car.  But then she said Bubba, so I drew her in the car.

Sometimes I draw her a chicken just to shake it up a bit, but then she gets upset and asks me to draw her a bubba.

When we get the duplo out, she asks me to make her a bubba.

“Hannah, if you’re Bubba, what are we going to call the new bubba when it’s born?”  I asked her (after drawing the 50th bubba for the day).

“Gone. Be gone.” Yeah, she actually said that.  Oh snap.

10 Responses to “How many bubbas?”

  1. jbeath January 21, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    You are quite the artist Sheri. What a sweet and very cute story.
    Dad

  2. James Lewis January 21, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Yeha …….. What John said ……. LIKE !

  3. Fire Crystals January 21, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    That is very astute of Bubba 🙂

  4. May January 22, 2011 at 3:29 am #

    Haha that was such a cute story. Gone, be gone! Hahaha. Btw. That duplo bubba is very impressive!

    • Sheri (Mommy Stuff Blogger) January 22, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      Thanks! My first dublo bubbas were not nearly as impressive. When you make something at least 10 times per day, you get pretty good at it….

  5. kris January 30, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    I am overwhelmed at the cuteness of this story.

    Oh my gosh.

    So much cute.

    Love it!

    “Gone. Be gone.”

    Snort!

Leave a Reply

