I’ll have what she’s having

9 Dec

I don’t usually post 2 days in a row (because a] I can’t be bothered, and b] I figure if I can’t be bothered writing 2 days in a row, surely you guys can’t be bothered reading 2 days in a row), but I just had to document this.  This little lunch-time feat knocked my mis-matched socks off.  Ok, not really, but only because it’s currently too hot to wear socks!

Today, I made a nice little plate of cheese, grapes, strawberry (yeah, only one, there was only one good one), and an apple cinnamon muffin (with added wheat germ for protein) for Hannah’s lunch.  Did she want to eat it?  Not a chance.  It’s so hard to get her to eat anything.  She doesn’t like egg (even if it’s just part of french toast, along with cinnamon and vanilla.  Delicious.), meat, fish, sandwiches, pretty much anything apart from fruit and some vegetables really.  Oh, and bars of course, she LOVES those darn Heinz Little Kids breakfast bars.

She didn’t want to eat her lunch at all.  Instead, she tore it into tiny little bits and scattered it around the table.  She did not, however, throw it on the floor.  She knows she gets time out for throwing food on the floor.  When the entire meal resembled the dry ingredients of a cake mix, she proclaimed “DONE!” and wanted to get down.

Fine then, down she went.  I don’t yell at her to eat more food, or try to force her, or scold her, or tell her she’s naughty. I don’t think that is very helpful, and would eventually result in an unhealthy relationship with food.  Plus, she can learn that there are consequences of not eating.  I.E. she will be hungry.

So I put her down, and then she wanted to sit in the normal chair (rather than her high chair) next to me (because I was still eating my lunch).  She grabbed a pen and started drawing a lovely little picture which kind of resembled a fur ball or a dust bunny.  She looked at my lunch.  She looked at me.  Now back at my lunch.  Now back at me….

“Do you want some of Mommy’s lunch?”

“Mmmmm.” That means yes in Hannah speak.  I’m sorry to report, she got that from me.  I didn’t even realise I say mmm for yes.  Until she started doing it of course.  Oh well, I’ll work on that.

I gave her a bite.  She spit it out.  But then she wanted another bite.  Kids are so weird.

She stuck her chubby little baby arms out toward me and wiggled her little fingers. “Mom” (fine, Mum, she says Mum, much to my dismay) she said, willing me to pick her up.

I picked her up and put her in my lap, where she sat and started eating my lunch with her hands, grabbing it and shoveling it into her mouth.  She can use a spoon or spork, it’s just so much better to use hands.

She didn’t like her arrangement of grapes, cheese, strawberry, and muffin.  So you know what she ate instead?  Tandoori chicken curry with rice.  I don’t think I’ll ever possibly be able to guess which foods she will like, and which she will not.

Tandoori Chicken Curry (photo courtesy of Woolworths)

One Response to “I’ll have what she’s having”

  1. DAD December 9, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    Sheri,
    I’m glad Hannah ate your lunch. You were a very picky eater. Justin is too. Hopefully Hannah will learn to like more foods.
    DAD

Leave a Reply

